Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Random Tuesday Thoughts September 26, 2006

Filed under: Personal — bonniep @ 11:26 am

My commute (in my Earth friendly Prius) *should* take about 25 minutes. But recently it has been closer to 40. Yuck. And the major traffic all comes *before* I get to my coffee stop, so that isn’t helping.

Washington drivers are not as motivated as Boston drivers were–which can work in my favor if I am the only left turner hanging out in the intersection waiting for the light to turn red…but works against me when the cars in front of me take their own sweet time to start up when the light turns green. I remember the drive from the airport when we moved here, back in April–G was passing people left and right, swerving in and out of the carpool lane. "What are these people doing?!" he fumed. My answer? "The speed limit."

Long commute not quite as bad when old Cure is playing on KEXP. I saw the Cure in concert back in…1991 I think. Wow, am I dating myself? And next up on the playlist was a band with the very clever name "I Love You But I’ve Chosen Darkness". KEXP is kind of hit or miss but once it is past 9 am I cannot bear to listen to the call-in show on the NPR station, which seems to mostly focus on gardening.

Went to the Puyallup Fair this weekend with C, G, and G’s dad. There was a sheep riding event for the under six set. The program noted how fun it was to watch the wee ones "hold on for dear life". Hmmm. Needless to say, we did not try that event. Nor did C ride on the "Kiddie Whip". Seems like the rest of America has different ideas of fun from me. My idea of fun usually doesn’t involve making my small child cry or fear for her life. Weird, I know.

How could anyone make and sell elephant ears when they could be making and selling funnel cake?? I will never understand that. Back in MN they tried to pass off mini doughnuts as an acceptable alternative. I think not! Clearly these happy girls don’t know what they are missing.

 

Elephant ear      vs        Funnel cake

Other thoughts from the fair–I am not usually in a position to comment on anyone’s choice of dress. I mean, I wear clogs. But. Please. No matter how attractive your tramp stamp….pants should cover ass crack. They really should. That is the raison d’etre of pants. Especially if you are sitting with your back to me eating in the Pete’s BBQ shack. I can deal with some muffin top. But crack is right out. (For more information, you can visit Wikipedia, which helpfully points out that "A lower back tattoo is a tattoo placed in center of the human lower back." No information on what pigs, monkeys, and other non humans call their tattoos in the center of the lower back. Brands?)

 

3 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts”

  1. Unknown Says:

    I think the quality of the ass and the ration of hips to waist are important things to factor in, along with the affor mentioned muffin top. You are definately right that it is really tough for it to all work out at place like Pete\’s BBQ., especially while enjoying a delcious and hard to find funnel cake. Not to worry, though…. the high waste of the 80s will be back soon enough.

  2. Charles Says:

    Funnel cake is clearly the best thing in the world. Thank you for pointing this out.

  3. Unknown Says:

    wow gold wow gold replica rolex powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling rolex wow gold wow gold Warcraft Gold Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow gold@@@@ World of Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling rolex replica wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerlevelingtruytuytuirt


Leave a Reply

