Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Free Time November 2, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — bonniep @ 6:01 pm

About 18 months ago, when we were still living in Somerville, G came home one day and said "I don’t know if I should tell you this, but I found a paper crafting store that I think you would really like."

I haven’t had the courage to ask him if he regrets telling me.

I went to that store and took a scrapbooking class and have been scrapbooking like crazy since then. In our new house I have a whole dedicated area, complete with a scrap desk that G and his dad made. I have always been a little bit crafty–rubber stamping, sewing, and even knitting as a kid, beading and silversmithing classes in high school and college (even sold jewelry at some craft shows around then), an enormous scarf that remains unfinished from grad school, and periodic bursts of hand made invitations since then. Scrapbooking is by far my favorite though.

Scrapbooking has a reputation for being, ahem, lame. But I find it a chance to play with paper, and color, and fun little things. To document cute pictures of C and write down stories that I want to remember. It has been the impetus for learning more about photography and improving my skills.

Tomorrow and Saturday, I will be attending my first scrapbooking convention right here in Bellevue. I am taking classes and even going out to dinner on Saturday with a bunch of people I met online through a scrapbooking message board. I saw the final list of dinner attendees today, and I must say I am a bit intimidated–this is all a group of people who want to be published, but while I am firmly in the "want to be" most of the other seem to be in the "regularly" published category. Will have to maintain calm!

Anyway, I hate the process of scanning and stitching layouts, but I do try to post some on a few different online galleries. You can see some of my work/obsession at Two Peas in a Bucket.

 

One Response to “Free Time”

  1. Unknown Says:

    wow gold wow gold replica rolex powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling rolex wow gold wow gold Warcraft Gold Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow gold@@@@ World of Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling rolex replica wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerlevelingfghduytur


Leave a Reply

