Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Expectations November 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — bonniep @ 9:22 pm

So much of being satisfied is all about expectations. When I left work on Monday, I knew that the weather was bad (snowing) and had heard that highways were backing up. Leaving at 6:00 pm, I expected to be home a bit late–maybe around 7 pm. My expectations were way off. I guess the cities had not expected the weather and traffic either, or they may have had salt or sand trucks at the ready. Luckily, I was able to adjust my expectations and just go with the flow. The very slow moving flow that is. I was forced to abandon the car due to extremely icy conditions about 1/2 mile from our house. G was quite surprised to see me approaching home…on foot…after 11 pm!

I see another event in the near future where I am already starting to get unrealistic expectations. G is headed back to Boston for six days in December. So I am starting to plan a bunch of fun activities to do with C. We have a set of papier mache ornaments to decorate and…tickets to a matinee of the Nutcracker. My vision of this event involves a beautifully dressed and behaved three year old who sits quietly and in awe for a two hour dance performance. This might be…bordering on the insane.

But I am doing all I can to bring the plan to fruition. I am gearing C up for it–we bought a Nutcracker pop-up book and CD over the weekend and the book is now her "favorite". We have had a few discussions about it and she seems excited…although most of the talks end with "I won’t have to get on stage?" So clearly her expectations are not fully in line with reality either. The fact that she wouldn’t leave the preschool building on Monday to see the visiting firemen does not bode well.

But here’s hoping it all goes smashingly, and if it isn’t one for the history books here’s hoping I can downgrade my expectations and make the experience as good as possible–and not be disappointed if we have to leave early.

 

One Response to “Expectations”

  1. Unknown Says:

    wow gold wow gold replica rolex powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling rolex wow gold wow gold Warcraft Gold Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow gold@@@@ World of Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling rolex replica wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerlevelingfghfhgfjf


Leave a Reply

