Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

I didn’t cheer for you June 17, 2007

Filed under: Personal — bonniep @ 2:35 pm

As promised, I wrapped up my "training" and entered a 10k this weekend. Now, I have never been a fast runner. My last race was a marathon in 2002. And my training now that I work full time and have a preschooler is pretty…minimal. And I don’t do any running on a treadmill now and never drove my regular course, so I had no idea how fast I have been running. But I really hoped I could break an hour for the 10k. Overcast day, cool, clicked off–woah! 9 minute miles for the first three! For me, this is outstanding. But around mile 5 I slowed down a bit. Did "sprint" for the last .2 k, passing a few people (heh heh). Saw G and C on the sidelines. And check this out:

9:17 pace! So proud! A new personal best! (Looked up my previous 10ks–58:40 in 2001 and 59:54 in 2000)

Afterwards, met up with C and G. C said "you don’t look very happy. I did not cheer for you" and had been crying because a race official asked her not to hang on a rope (the same race official who stood directly between me and G as G was trying to take my picture in the last seconds of the race. Jerk.) G said "Let’s get out of here. I was up too early. I sacrificed to be here. I didn’t want to come, you made me. The only reason I came was to get a picture of you for you to scrap and that jerk stood right in my line of sight. You should be thankful to me!"

Oh. Note to self: plans that involve waking C and G up before 7 are a bad idea.

But later he said "When I saw you round the corner, I was so proud." And we went out for crepes and they both cheered up a bit.

No pictures available right now, and no promises that I will put one up when they are (I tend to be a very red-faced runner).

 

One Response to “I didn’t cheer for you”

  1. Unknown Says:

    wow gold wow gold replica rolex powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling powerleveling powerleveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling power leveling rolex wow gold wow gold Warcraft Gold Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow gold@@@@ World of Warcraft Gold wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling rolex replica wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerleveling wow powerlevelinguioiuoiuoiu


Leave a Reply

