Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Well, that was a frustrating exercise in pointlessness May 18, 2008

Filed under: Personal — bonniep @ 11:05 pm

You may recall I mentioned relearning knitting. I haven’t knit since an ill-advised scarf which I started in grad school. I opted to not use a pattern, just cast on a bunch of stitches and start.

For a scarf, you don’t really need a bunch of stitches. My "scarf" was about 2 feet wide, and would never fit around anyone’s neck. I went through ball after ball of yarn, and it barely grew. Finally, I gave up on it.

But knitting is a good nursing activity–easy to pick up and put down, and minimal setup or cleanup. So I happily bought the "One Skein Wonders" kit at Borders–book about things to knit with one skein of yarn, plus a skein and some knitting needles, all for one low low price. I picked a scarf, and I was off.

One skein wonders all right. One skein I wonder where the (*&@(#$& the rest of my scarf is supposed to be.

Anyone need a foot long narrow blanket?

 

Leave a Reply

