Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

The Ultimate White Person Day September 25, 2008

Filed under: Personal — bonniep @ 9:11 pm

When I was in Portland we went to Powell’s books and I found a book called Stuff White People Like: A Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions. This book is absolutely hilarious even as I find it depressing to realize how many of my opinions/interests/values are completely cliche.

The author maintains a blog, which apparently was first (the book expands on the entries and has several not on the blog).

Yesterday, I went about a normal day and thought I would list it here, with links showing exactly how I am an embarrassingly standard white person.

Left the house with M in my Toyota Prius, wearing a Horny Toad fleece, listening to KEXP and then NPR. Drove to IKEA for some playroom furniture, a lemon reamer,  and canisters to hold bulk good groceries (oatmeal, quinoa, etc). Drove to Whole Foods, ate some sushi for lunch and then stocked up on organic, local, and sustainably farmed foods. Drove home, unloaded the car, went to C’s preschool (where she learns yoga, Spanish, and Chinese) to pick her up, and then we went out for coffee (well, me—she has milk) and then to the farmer’s market for more local produce. Drove home. Brought in the recycling container. Picked up our new Netflix movies from the mail, washed my water bottle, and logged onto Facebook on our Mac laptop. Ate my vegetarian dinner with a glass of wine. Knit on my sweater.

And that is on a day where I wasn’t even trying. Pitiful.

 

Leave a Reply

