Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

2009 tally January 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bonniep @ 10:03 pm

2009 was the year of kids and hobbies. I continued knitting, re-started seriously lifting weights after joining the Y, started sewing, and kept taking photographs. I also cooked more, especially in the summer when we were able to make a real effort to eat locally, often hitting up to three farmer’s markets a week, growing several items ourselves, and having all our dairy/eggs delivered from a local farm. I didn’t grown much as photographer and in fact had many events where I just wasn’t very motivated to take pictures. But I am starting an online class in a few days and hopefully that will kick me into gear.

Knitting wise, I completed: three pairs of adult socks, one scarf, two sweaters for M, one sweater for C, two hats for C, one hat for a C friend, one random hat, and one surprise project which I still may gift to someone and so am not sharing. Most of these haven’t been blogged, which I hope to remedy soon. But I do have a picture of C in her sweater and one hat. The sweater is from the same pattern as one of M’s sweaters, but C’s is wool and silk after all the complaining about her wool sweater last year. The hat took me two days and might be one of my favorite projects from this year. The saleslady at the Hermes store complimented it, which I was pretty proud of. First projects for the new year are a shawl and a sweater for G (yikes! lots of plain grey in my future).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sewing wise, I completed two dresses and a pair of pants for M, one set of placemats and napkins, two kind of shoddy journal covers as gifts, three pouches for C and a friend, six skirts for C and two for her friend, five dresses for C and two for her friend, and some doll clothes (sleeper set, dress, two pairs of pants). Not bad. I started two quilts but neither of those are finished yet, and I have a dress cut out for M that has been languishing during holiday time. Plus, C needs a big green fur costume for a play at school (is there any worse handout to get from school than one that says “Costumes will be supplied by parents”?) and time is running short on that. Again, I am lacking pictures of everything, particularly the final dress I made for C, which was from a Japanese pattern book. Always interesting to follow directions that you can’t read. C is pretty good about wearing the things I make for her, although the skirt I made for her birthday she wants to keep a “secret” and she did mention once that although she loves the things I make her, they aren’t as nice as things from the store. Out of the mouths of babes, right? Here is the penultimate dress, which has a pleat in the skirt that isn’t quite visible. I made a rookie mistake in cutting out the top and the bottom in opposite directions on the corduroy, such that the nap runs up on one and down on the other. We decided to add some lace ribbon at the waist which helps hide that a little. One might also note that C does her own styling, hence the interesting choice of shirt and pants here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think my favorite sewing project is a tie between the patchwork skirt for C and the pants for M. The pants fit so well and have lots of cute pockets, which don’t necessarily show up in the photo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As for the rest of the year, it was a pretty good one for us. G travels a lot to Boston but he managed to change his schedule so that he is usually gone Sunday night – Friday night which is much better than when he would miss a weekend day. C is loving kindergarten and starting to read. She has also improved as a swimmer by leaps and bounds. M is growing up faster than any of us could imagine, and we have very interesting conversations now (although don’t ask me what we are talking about).

C picked “Christmas, Halloween and my birthday” as her favorite part of 2009. G and I were tied with picking our trip to San Francisco as our favorite, with a day at the beach in Cleveland over the summer as a close second. M I believe picked “Dog”. 

From here:

 

 

 

 

 

to here:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can’t wait to see what 2010 brings.

 

One Response to “2009 tally”

  1. Jen Says:

    Why is it that I only have one kid and I didn\’t accomplish nearly as much as you did in 2009? I\’m impressed! I love seeing the things you make for the C and M.


Leave a Reply

