Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Sewing Skirts June 16, 2011

Filed under: Sewing — bonniep @ 9:56 pm

One of the blogs I try to read regularly, Crafterhours, announced Skirt Week 2011 and I became very motivated to sew up some skirts. I had five planned but since entries are due tomorrow I think the fifth won’t get done in time (darn my sitter that cancelled for today and my family that wants me to spend time with them!)

The first two are hopefully getting fancied up a bit tonight, so no pictures yet. So far, they are simple No-Hem skirts for M and C.

Skirt 4 was the Insa skirt from Sewing Clothes Kids Love, which I purchased when first released but had yet to use to actually make anything. I had some turquoise print stretch poplin (fabric.com I think) and pink polka-dotted swiss dot fabric (local Hancock’s) in stash, purchased some pink trim last week when C was at sewing class at Pacific Fabric and Crafts and…voila…

 028 030

038

French seams and elastic gathering on the overlay with a rolled hem edge, matching topstitching on the underskirt, and that trim has a little lace edging on it as well. I had to shorten the yoke by almost an inch (made the 122/128 size which the book claims is 6-7) and the skirt a bit. C is thrilled with this and I put a fair amount of work into it. I am going to ender it into the skirt week contest.

Skirt 3 might be the real surprise…as it is for me! (So is unmade skirt 5). I bought this pattern (Barcelona by Amy Butler) and fabric almost two years ago and finally actually made it. Pictures taken by C while I tried to watch M, and for some reason was wearing a totally non-coordinating shirt…well, I am hoping they don’t do it justice. It doesn’t bunch like that in the mirror!

057052

(Warning! Super white leg alert!)

Anyway, fairly happy with this one too—it is fully lined with an invisible zipper in the back. If I can get some better photos I might enter this into the contest as well. You can’t win if you don’t try, right?

 

Leave a Reply

