Jaded Optimist

Mothering, making, and generally blathering on

Celebrating Color November 20, 2011

Filed under: Personal,Sewing — bonniep @ 10:19 pm

Celebrate Color

A favorite sewing blog (Stitched in Color) has been hosting a three month celebration of color and crafting. As soon as I read the initial post, I started planning an outfit for M. I had some yellow material from Lecien that I purchased with her in mind—it has tiny colorful flowers in orange, red, white, and turquoise and just screamed M in the fall to me.

I put together two japanese patterns (the top is from Girls Style Wardrobe and the pants are from an issue of Cucito magazine) and made what I think is an awfully cute outfit. Of course, Life got in the way and I finished way later than planned, so the 40 degree weather here is a bit cool for this fall outfit! Somehow I don’t think that will stand in M’s way. Picture-taking opportunities have also been hard to come by, hence the late afternoon, post nap hair and yawning here!

Top has pleats at the neck, balloon sleeves, a rear yoke, brown lace edging at the hem and two acorn buttons at the neck. The pants are cropped brown fine cord with pockets on the front and reverse pleat openings of the same material as the shirt on the sides. Isn’t she a vision of fall?

008007012

015011013

There is a little contest associated with the color celebration, so I am throwing my hat into the Wearables category ring. Fingers crossed for me please!

 

2 Responses to “Celebrating Color”

  1. Aunt Bebe Says:

    Absolutely a darling outfit on a darling little girl! A prize winner for sure!

  2. elizabeth Says:

    LOVE the outfit…hte pintucks in the shirt are darling!


Leave a Reply

